US English making me doubt my spellings!

Don’t you just hate it, when your English is right and yet Microsoft word or twitter or while writing a blog post, you get a red line below some words!! Thats because of the difference of the UK English and US English. I have studied UK English from school and i guess all these websites have US English uploaded as the main language. Initially i really use to think that i have forgotten my spellings..for example i would type favourite and a red line would come below.. because the US spelling is Favorite. I would literally go on google and check it up…then later on i realised I don’t have dementia or dyslexia or anything, its the difference in both these languages And i still remember my spellings correctly 😀

6 thoughts on “US English making me doubt my spellings!”

  1. So, have you ‘realized’? 😉

    Sorry! 😛

    You change this setting in your browser; I’ve just forgotten how! I’ve recently returned to using Mozilla Firefox after suffering with Google Chrome and I’ve got the exact problem you’ve described. It is irritating.

    I was looking around for a solution earlier, when I found an option to install an Australia-English dictionary… I had no idea such a thing existed!! 🙂

  2. It definitely can get confusing! I am American, but lived in Australia where they use UK spelling, so I know what you mean about favourite vs. favorite. Also, the Aussies and Brits don’t use “z” much whereas in the US we use it quite a bit (e.g. realize, specialize, criticize…etc.) Thanks for sharing this and thank you for stopping by Travel Oops and liking the Friday Funny Sign! Steph

Would love to hear your thoughts too ~

